skip to content
Click here to return to the Piper Center home page

Time CapsuleVisiting Writers

Distinguished Visiting Canadian Fulbright Chair in Creative Writing

Past Distinguished Visiting Canadian Fulbright Chairs have included Ron Smith, Tom Wayman, Ross Leckie, Warren Cariou and Rishma Dunlop. Click here for more information on the Distinguished Visiting Canadian Fulbright Chair in Creative Writing. (All applications and award decisions are made by the Canadian Fulbright Agency.)

The Piper Center Distinguished Writer in Residence

As part of the generous endowment from the Piper Charitable Trust, the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing welcomes Distinguished Writers in Residence into the ASU and Phoenix metro area communities for extended stays.

Distinguished Writers in Residence are selected for their overall contributions to American letters and literature and their demonstrated excellence in teaching. Selected writers execute a semester-long residency incorporating community and ASU-based teaching endeavors; public reading events, lectures, and receptions; and potential one-on-one interaction with students.

Our inaugural Distinguished Writer in Residence was Lee Gutkind, the "godfather of creative nonfiction" and founder and editor of the literary journal Creative Nonfiction. Mr. Gutkind was in residence at the Piper Center for Creative Writing from January 15, 2007 through May 15, 2007 and again from January 1, 2008 through May 15, 2008. Author Kevin McIlvoy served as the Distinguished Visiting Writer in Residence in the spring of 2010.